Review: Magic Games (Dragon Born Serafina #2) by Ella Summers

Magic Games Book Cover Magic Games
Dragon Born Serafina #2
Ella Summers
Urban Fantasy
Night Spark Media
November 30, 2015


Dragon Born mage Sera Dering was sentenced to death before she was even born. Condemned as an abomination by the world’s supernatural council, she has escaped her fate for twenty-four years by pretending to be human.

Until now.

When the council finds out Sera has been hiding her magic, they’re determined to find out why. They send her to New York City to compete in the Magic Games, a series of trials designed to break a mage’s mind and crack her secrets.

And the fighting pit is only one of her worries. An old enemy is stalking Sera from the shadows, preparing to make his next move. To survive the week, Sera has to trust sexy mage Kai, the world’s most powerful mage—even knowing he has his own plans for her.

Magic Games is the second book in the Dragon Born Serafina urban fantasy series.

Suggested reading order:
Mercenary Magic (Dragon Born Serafina, Book 1)
Magic Edge (Dragon Born Alexandria, Book 1)
Magic Games (Dragon Born Serafina, Book 2)
Magic Nights (Dragon Born Serafina, Book 3)
Blood Magic (Dragon Born Alexandria, Book 2)
Magic Kingdom (Dragon Born Alexandria, Book 3)
Fairy Magic (Dragon Born Awakening, Book 1)


Magic Games is book two in the Dragon Born Serafina series by Ella Summers.

I like the concept of the powerful Dragon Born. I just wish more was explained on what they are and can do. Why are they put to death? etc…

We get a few twits and surprises in Magic Games, but I feel the story isn’t progressing enough. It could be; because I’m not reading the Dragon Born Alexandria alongside this one. The series co-inside.

Magic Games is a little more fast-paced then Mercenary Magic. Here we focus on the magic games which are a sequence of battles designed to crack a mage, but we don’t get an explanation of what it’s designed to crack. Her mind? Her magic? What?

Kai and Sera are not yet in a relationship, but it’s heading that way. By the end they are together. He’s helping her out and waiting for her to share her secret. I liked that Sera has a talk with her sister Alex. It gives you a little insight into what’s going on inside Sera’s mind. Then we have the ever impending secret and will it come out. It’s still safe; except from an ancient mage and his gang of bad guys.

I will say that this series reminds me of her Legion of Angels series, but instead of Angel’s we get magic and mages.

Magic Games was a fun read. I enjoyed and now onto the next.

Rated: 3.5 Stars

Was this review helpful? If so, please consider liking it on Goodreads (Angela)!

Challenges (2019):



Daily or Weekly Mail


I was born and raised in Northern Indiana. I’m an outdoor sun loving reader living near San Fransisco. I’m a mother, wife, dog owner, animal, and book lover. I’m the owner, reviewer, and mind behind Angel’s Guilty Pleasures. My favorite animals are horses & dogs. As for reading I love all things paranormal & urban fantasy. My favorite shifters are dragons!

Facebook Twitter Google+   

8 comments on “Review: Magic Games (Dragon Born Serafina #2) by Ella Summers

  1. I’m interested in this series since you mention it is like the Legion of Angel’s series. However, my reading habits would have me totally confused on reading order! Glad you were able to find these on KU!
    Tanya @ Rantings of a Reading Addict recently posted…Review ~ Blood Challenge by Eileen WilksMy Profile

    • It’s been ok to read. I’m not as in love with this series as I am with the Legion of Angel’s. As for reading order.
      I’d suggest doing it this way:

      Mercenary Magic (Dragon Born Serafina, Book 1)
      Magic Edge (Dragon Born Alexandria, Book 1)
      Magic Games (Dragon Born Serafina, Book 2)
      Magic Nights (Dragon Born Serafina, Book 3)
      Blood Magic (Dragon Born Alexandria, Book 2)
      Magic Kingdom (Dragon Born Alexandria, Book 3)
      Fairy Magic (Dragon Born Awakening, Book 1)
      Rival Magic (Dragon Born Serafina, Book 4)

      They co-inside or have things happen in a certain order and if you don’t you might feel like you missed something. The author does say that The three Dragon Born series can be read independently or together, but I recommend together not one series then another. The books are on Kindle Unlimited if you have that. Thank’s for visiting!

  2. Well you do like dragons although I am not getting a sense of those much, more magic. I’m surprised you are buying these but maybe they are not at the library. Well, they don’t have them at my library. I hope you enjoy them.
    Anne – Books of My Heart recently posted…Read-along & Giveaway: Bound by Benedict JackaMy Profile

    • Ella Summers is an indie author and my library does not have her, so if I want to read them and her I have to buy. She is in Kindle Unlimited and now that I have it for free for a few months I’m working on this series instead of buying. I like the series, but it’s not wowing me, so I know I won’t be reading them again and yes, I do like dragons and the premies of the dragon born is interesting.

  3. Great review Angela!! Shared on my socials!!💋💗😉👍

  4. I have to say, I really like all of the covers when all the books are placed together in your post! I know… don’t judge a book… but they are pretty.
    Jen recently posted…Review: Tiny House, Big Love by Olivia DadeMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.